Teaching programming to children and teachers

(Stefan Åstrand) #1

I am by no means a rockstar programmer but I have heard on many occasions that I do have an ability to explain complicated matters in simple and easy to understand terms. In order to grow as developer (and as a person) I have decided to take some time off the evenings and setup an introductory course in programming (with Javascript). The school I was talking to was very enthusiastic. Apparently, as of next year, programming will be included in the curriculum for all schools across Sweden. They offered me the opportunity to introduce it to children and their teachers, which is a very interesting challenge.

I am contemplating how to approach this problem conceptually. There are plenty of resources available for anyone who want to familiarize themselves in this subject, but in my opinion many of them becomes way too technical way too fast, or overly abstract and simplified. Programming in itself is a process of dealing with problems on a very detailed and technical level, as well taking a step back and looking at the bigger picture. I think that teaching programming should go along with teaching this skill.

I remember that what worked for me in the beginning was to start approaching problems as a machine would; by deconstructing them into smaller pieces. We humans process most information with our intuitive unconscious mind, but as programmers we learn to treat seemingly mundane tasks as a series complicated instructions. This counterintuitive way of dealing with problems I believe is the first hurdle to overcome in learning to program.

It would be very interesting to learn what methods, language, problems, tasks, explanations, etc. that worked for you to understand complicated concepts such as variables, operators, control flow, data structures or abstraction (through functions or OOP)? It could be anything really.